Award? Me?

Blogger-Recognition.png

 

The Rules:

  1. Thank the blogger who nominated you and provide a link to their blog.
  2. Write a post to show your award.
  3. Give a brief story of how you blog started.
  4. Give two pieces of advice to new bloggers.
  5. Select 15 other bloggers for this award.
  6. Comment on each blog to let them know you’ve nominated them and a link to the post you created.

 

Just as I was doubting the value of my contributions to this community, I get nominated by the lovely Laina for the Blogger recognition award!

Laina is the wonderful author of the blog The Silent Wave, by the way, which covers any and all things Aspie related if you want to go have a nosey (I highly recommend you do!).

200-14

I haven’t been blogging long,only since November 2016, but I considerably underestimated that amount of reassurance and peace it would bring me.

Initially, I was of the mind set that where this blog would offer me a sense of catharsis, it wouldn’t overtly affect my day to day life; it would remain enclosed on my little corner of the inter web, never to seep into or affect my outer self or my actions.

FINDING DORY

©2016 Disney•Pixar. All Rights Reserved.

In some ways this is true, I don’t go around all hunky dory now just because I started a blog…but similarly, it has become something of a confidant.

<- not me.

This probably isn’t making much sense, so let me explain. My initial reason for starting a blog was primarily to help others understand the aspie point of view, but not just any aspie point of view. Mine. In the words of  Stephen Shore;

“If you’ve met one person with autism…you’ve met one person with autism.” 

So where I knew my own experiences wouldn’t be directly applicable to anyone else, they would give an insight into one of the many facets of living with (and maybe even around) ASD; which I deemed valuable.

What I did not account for was my reaction to the blog itself. I knew it may help others, but it was never intended to help me. But now I find myself, fumbling through University life (currently very sad and rather scared) and the first thing on my mind is to write a post about it. My mind is screaming to just get it down and out of my head, all the issues going on, all the worries.

I actually haven’t posted what has gotten me in such a state because I was debating whether that would really suit the blog content. This is to help other people, not my own personal online diary/agony aunt session.

Irregardless, in the short space of time in which I have run this blog, I am thankful that I do. I’m thankful I took the plunge and put myself out there, even if I feel like a goldfish just waiting to be tapped at and antagonized (as of yet this has not happened, everyone is lovely!).

 

giphy-5

So my tips for new bloggers;

  1. Just do it! (please don’t prosecute me Nike) Just write write write.Honestly, coming from a fellow newbie, even if you don’t know where it’s going, the journey can be therapeutic all on its own.
  2. Reach out. The community is warm and welcoming, and even though I struggle with this myself, there are tonnes of people to get into contact with, even if it’s indirectly. Follow, comment, you don’t have to message them for one-to-one conversation, just let them know you’re there, and you’re listening.

Now this is going to sound terrible (at least it would to a neurotypical) but I don’t know 15 other bloggers on here. I mean I could just search some up and bung them in, but I don’t want to do that and it’s dishonest, so, no. I will put in those who I follow and appreciate because its my honest opinion. And they are as follows;

  1. Anna from Anonymously Autistic – wonderful and honest blog
  2. Laina from The Silent Wave – Duh, how could I not include you? 😂
  3. Zack from Zack Mayo’s Blog – Gotta love a bit of computer science
  4. Russ from Nomadruss – Wonderful nature photography

Thanks again Laina!

I hope everyone is having a lovely day! Chins up 😘

Sasha x

 

 

6 thoughts on “Award? Me?

  1. This field was intentionally left blank says:

    Awesomesauce!!! Thank you, my lovely ❤️❤️ I burst out laughing, feeling warm and snuggly inside, when I read your mention of me 😊😊. That was awesome! 💘

    I’ve done this one before but I’m honored to do it again! It’s been a while anyway. 😉

    Big Love to You!
    ~The Silent Wave/Laina

    Like

Leave a comment